Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
likun415
15 avril 2010

Veiled Woman Rises In TV Poetry Contest

<p>likun415</p>

Denouncing harsh fatwas and the hard line clerics who issue cheap earrings has brought fame and possible fortune to one Saudi poet.

Hissa Hilal wowed the judges and the audience to become only the second woman to make the finals in the Arab world's popular program "Million's Poet." The show is similar to "American Idol," but contestants recite poetry in the traditional Bedouin style.

Hissa Hilal's verses describe extreme clerics and fatwas as, quote, "wearing death as a dress and covering it with a belt," as in suicide belt.

She's now in Abu Dhabi preparing for next week's final vote on poetry she knows is risky to recite in public.

Ms. HISSA HILAL (Poet): I have been writing since I was 12 years old, and I thought I have something to say to the people. If I don't do it this year, I think I'm not going to do it in my life.

MONTAGNE: What was it that you wanted to communicate? Because your poem, it's quite startling.

Ms. HILAL: Yeah, the people know me when I started as a romantic girl. I used to write mostly about love and about life. But there are certain poems that I wrote strongly. I felt I should have the courage to say it in a strong way. If you say it in a soft way, cheap jewelry notice it.

MONTAGNE: In translations of the poem that got you to the finals, which of course will lose the full power of the language. But for our...

Ms. HILAL: Yeah, of course.

MONTAGNE: But for our listeners to get an idea of what you were saying, I understand you recited such lines as: I have seen evil in the eyes of fatwas. It's a very strong message.

Ms. HILAL: No. You have to be (unintelligible) and to say something because I see violence and extremism become more and more strong. I want to give idea about those Arabs who are silent. They are silent but they have the same idea I have.

MONTAGNE: And your family, they've supported you in this? Tiffany Key Rings I know you have a husband and children.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité